Dining room restoration

Project updates and progress reports
Mick_VT

Dining room restoration

Post by Mick_VT »

An so it has begun. I have been promising that I would start this project for several years. Discoveries in adjacent rooms have added complication to the plans as I discovered the original floor layout and missing built-in. I have already sourced and installed the built-in, but reconfiguring the floor layout back to original is going to require that I pull the kitchen apart and move the stove and a bunch of the cabinets in order to remove a dividing wall between the kitchen and original pantry and also close up a non original doorway between the kitchen and dining room. This is not gonna be quick!

Here are some before pictures:

This is the realtor shot from when we bought the place.
Realtor shot
Realtor shot
5.jpg (24.38 KiB) Viewed 1278 times

And here we are looking the other way, when I was tearing out what used to be the bathroom (hence the plastic). Notice the new bathroom now on the right :D
dining room doors
dining room doors
DSCN0413 copy.jpg (625.65 KiB) Viewed 1278 times

What I was to discover was that the bathroom (left), appeared to have originally been a pantry area, open to the kitchen (off to the left of this picture) and was in fact the original entrance to the dining room from the kitchen. I also discovered that between those two bathroom doors had once sat a built in cupboard. Similar arrangements in town are not fancy, just a panelled door, the same as the other interior doors covering a set of shelves.

evidence of built in
evidence of built in
DSCN0419 copy.jpg (380.32 KiB) Viewed 1278 times

Evidence of new wall to pantry and shadows of pantry shelves
Evidence of new wall to pantry and shadows of pantry shelves
DSCN0420 copy.jpg (379.36 KiB) Viewed 1278 times