Too many apples!

All things horticultural, the very best gardens the District has to offer can be found here
GinaC
Forgotten more than most know

Too many apples!

Post by GinaC »

So I was excited when I found out one of the trees in my backyard is an apple tree. I called an arborist during the summer and he said to put fruit tree fertilizer spikes to help it out, which I did. He said to call him back in October so he could cut it back properly.

(Keep in mind that I tend to stay away from plants in general because I am not good with them.)

Well, the apples are ready. It's not a big tree, but it hasn't been cared for, so all the fruit is at the top. It's all dropping and it's making a mess. Every day I go out and I pick up about 20 good apples, and the rest, about 40, are already half eaten. I've been bagging the bad ones for trash removal. Is there anything else I should be doing with them?

Still, 20 good apples a day is too much for me and my lonesome to eat! They aren't pretty, because they have spots, which I've determined is fungus. Also, they're not the eating variety, they're the cooking variety. I've made some applesauce and it turned out well, and tomorrow I'll be making some cobbler.

Any ideas what else to do with the good ones?
1939 Minimal Traditional

heartwood

Re: Too many apples!

Post by heartwood »

make applesauce or give them to someone who does...
horses and cows love apples...do you have a farm near by?
leave some for the critters who are enjoying them...

if the tree is cared for by the new owner (you!), it won't be so tall but grow wide...
get yourself a little ladder and pick them so they don't have time to fall...

have fun....
....jade

Willa
Revered expert in almost everything

Post by Willa »

Suggestions: