Remove part of baseboard?

Part of the former WavyGlass.org site. This was the place where most discussions occurred.
DavidP
Been here a while

Remove part of baseboard?

Post by DavidP »

I just ordered a large bookcase and want it to sit flush against the wall. The people who will make it say that they sometimes notch out the bottom of bookcases to fit tight over baseboards. The problem is that I don't have a sample to give them, and the baseboard is a tall, fairly complex profile (Victorian house, of course).

If I remove the baseboard behind where the bookcase will go, there would be no issue. If I could get it off in one piece and store it in the attic, subsequent owners could reinstall it if they wanted to take out the bookcase (I probably won't take it with me because it's sized for this exact location). Some filler and paint touchup, and no one would be the wiser.

There's that "if" part. I've never done anything like this before. What would be the appropriate tool to slice through an installed baseboard? I need to remove about half the baseboard, leaving the other half as is on the wall.

I also wonder what is behind the baseboard. How did they do things back in the day? If, for instance, they put rough boards around the perimeter, then did the plaster, and finally added the baseboards, that would be good since there would be a solid back behind the baseboard. If it's just the bottom of the plaster, that might be dicier. I would appreciate any suggestions!

phil
Has many leather bound books

Re: Remove part of baseboard?

Post by phil »

in my house no the plaster wasn't finished, I think they slapped in the baseboards while the plaster was wet and no they didn't finish it behind. I would just notch the wall unit, why is this hard?

lovesickest
Forgotten more than most know

Post by lovesickest »