Repairing Plaster Crown Moulding Questions

Part of the former WavyGlass.org site. This was the place where most discussions occurred.
lovesickest
Forgotten more than most know

Repairing Plaster Crown Moulding Questions

Post by lovesickest »

I am finally doing the plaster repairs on my long neglected livingroom (don't even ask). The wallpaper was stripped about 100 years ago(exaggerating) and most of the walls are in great shape give or take some hairline cracks. There is plaster crown moulding that has a few cracks on it. It feels more fragile/brittle than the wall plaster. The cracks do not appear to be the result of water infiltration.

I have no experience with this except for some basic patching. My plan is as follows:

- load patching compound into the sort of bag that is used for cake icing and fill the deep cracks like this.
- do a couple of applications, waiting for it to completely dry between applications
- do the surface coat which I guess i will just smooth on with my fingers (no curved putty knife tool ?)
- lightly sand then prime with alkyd primer

I spent a little time looking a YouTube plaster videos. Some swear to dampen the area to be plastered with a mist of water - others do not ?

To replace the edge area that was chipped off by too zealous wallpaper removal I thought that I would try to sort of pipe in a line to fill the missing area (icing again !) then sand that into shape when it was fully dry.

Has anyone done this who can offer experienced advice ?

crmouldingcrack1.jpg
crmouldingcrack1.jpg (14.56 KiB) Viewed 1460 times

crmouldingctackchip.jpg
crmouldingctackchip.jpg (13.26 KiB) Viewed 1460 times

nlswitz
Been here a while

Re: Repairing Plaster Crown Moulding Questions

Post by nlswitz »

I wish I had some advice but I have no experience with this. But I love your crown and hope you have a not too hard time restoring it.

mattswabb
Shakes a cane at new house owners

Post by mattswabb »