New/old storm windows?

Need advice, technical help or opinions, you will find plenty here! (Technical posts here)
JacquieJet
Shakes a cane at new house owners

New/old storm windows?

Post by JacquieJet »

Hello!
I'm new around here, so please forgive me if this isn't the correct place to post this (and point me in the right direction, please!).
All of my interior windows are original wood sash, but unfortunately most of the exterior storms are gone. In their place there are aluminum storm windows with fixed screens on the bottom portion, kind of like every cottage from the 1970's has!
Anyway, these are now in disrepair, and half don't even open anymore. Look awful, too. :thumb down: I want to replace them with something like a triple track storm, to help a bit with drafts but also so I can put a window air conditioner in! No central air here with our boiler system! ;) I have read that Larson makes a triple track storm, but I have no experience with their windows and they don't sell to Canadians, unfortunately! :roll:
Anyway, does anyone have any good leads on companies who make this sort of thing? Or maybe a better idea? I'm absolutely keeping all of the wood sash windows, but need a solution to this whole storm/screen window cap thing.
1917-ish
Happy 100th birthday, house!!

Gothichome

Re: New/old storm windows?

Post by Gothichome »

JJet, Gothichome has a lot of aluminium triple tracks, like yours well past thier prime. I've been slowly shuffling them about and moving my original wood storms to the front. What I did was get angle brackets and T's from the hardware store ( lots of them) and reinforcing the corners before I move them. This might be an option for you. Others here have had success painting them to match their interior sashes. This is some thing I am seriously considering, they almost disappear against sashes.

heartwood

Post by heartwood »