Bronze Window Weather stripping

Need advice, technical help or opinions, you will find plenty here! (Technical posts here)
nhguy
Stalwart

Bronze Window Weather stripping

Post by nhguy »

I was curious how the bronze weather stripping sold by various companies works with windows that have sash weights and ropes. I've never used this before and frankly always owned houses that predated this technology. Thanks in advance for the answers.

DavidP
Been here a while

Re: Bronze Window Weather stripping

Post by DavidP »

I was about to post a similar question. I've been reading up on spring bronze in preparation for (belatedly) doing a couple of windows before winter. There is no functional issue with the lower sash in windows that have weights, although some care is called for when nailing the bronze over pocket covers.

The big question seems to be what to do on the upper sash, where you can't put the bronze over the pulleys and cutting it to fit around is a pain and doesn't provide an airtight seal. Terence Meaney in his book Working Windows suggests using a v-shaped vinyl material on the upper sashes, while another book I consulted (Jordan is the author, IIRC) likes to use v-shaped (aka cushioned) bronze, not spring bronze. We have some window experts here and I'd really like to hear that they suggest about the upper sash, and also about whether and how to weatherstrip the bottom of the lower sash and the top of the upper. Thanks!

Moderators: does this thread belong in the Craftsman's Guild area?

Sara
Been here a while

Post by Sara »

:popcorn:

What a well-timed post! Would also love to hear from someone with personal experience. My particular situation involves basement windows - they are the original hopper-style windows inside that open towards the ceiling and then a simple storm outside. I assume I apply spring bronze on all sides of the exterior but only the sides and bottom of the interior window?