Replicating that dark shellac look

Need advice, technical help or opinions, you will find plenty here! (Technical posts here)
Kashka-Kat
Stalwart

Replicating that dark shellac look

Post by Kashka-Kat »

Really have gotten fond of my super dark shellac trim + doors (over fir) - but its in very rough shape so I tried the technique of applying alcohol to smooth it out.... however it didnt quite work out , so now it looks even worse - uneven color + all the other lumpy alligatored areas.

I frankly do not have the skills to apply shellac thickly and evenly enough to rebuild the finish - Lord knows I tried. Would it work to stain +a layer of garnet a layer or two over that? I can manage a couple of coats before it starts turning into a mess.

Am curious what other ways yall have found to refinish your interior trim and doors - exact products + color names would be helpful.
thx!

nhguy
Stalwart

Re: Replicating that dark shellac look

Post by nhguy »

I have little experience with shellac, but am learning as all our trim at our home of five years is shellac.
Here is one thread I have read to help me, but don't know if it will be benefical to you.
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=188
The one thing I have found is shellac is very forgiving.

KenN
Knows the back streets

Post by KenN »

I am in the middle of fixing all of our windows. All of our trim inside is finished with shellac. The window sashes are painted on the outside, and shellacked on the inside.

I have been slowly learning how to refinish or refresh the shellac on the inside of the windows. I am only attempting this on the sashes and the inside stops.

I tried the “applying alcohol to the existing old shellac” method. Some people call this re-amalgamating. Our shellac is so old, dirty, and alligatored, that by time I got rid of the dirt and bumps there was basically no shellac left on the wood.

What I do now is remove the shellac and apply new shellac, the darkest I can find (garnet).

I remove the shellac by: