What do you do when you're not working on your house?

A place to hang out, chat and post general discussion topics. (Non-technical posts here)
awomanwithahammer
Knows where blueprints are hidden

What do you do when you're not working on your house?

Post by awomanwithahammer »

I was reading some posts, and the general knowledge displayed by some folks just blows me away. I thought it might be interesting to find out what folks in the District do for their day jobs. Some of them we know, like Heartwood. But others aren't obvious.

I'll start. I don't have a day job anymore (my house IS my day job!) but my background is in clerical work. I job-hopped for several years and stayed home with my kids for several years, and then I was an administrative assistant at the local college for 18 years. I started out as a secretary, but they promoted me to administrative assistant. :-D No pay increase, just a change in title.

Anyone else want to chime in? :popcorn:
Bonnie

mjt
Shakes a cane at new house owners

Re: What do you do when you're not working on your house?

Post by mjt »

The first 20 years of my day job I was a software developer. Since then I've lead/managed software development teams. Because my day job often doesn't have outcomes you can touch and feel, it's nice to have a hobby that does.

As a result I sometimes describe myself as "a builder of things virtual and physical"...

GinaC
Forgotten more than most know

Post by GinaC »