Need another set of eyes...

Furniture, furnishings and other items of antique interest
awomanwithahammer
Knows where blueprints are hidden

Need another set of eyes...

Post by awomanwithahammer »

I love this, but as I've pointed out before, I'm not good at telling if stuff is authentic or reproduction. What do you guys think?
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/it ... 9309308208

Also, I found this at an antique/junk store for $20. I haven't quite figured out how old it is, or whether it's a ceiling or wall fixture. And I'm thinking it isn't supposed to have globes, because of the decorations. Would it have just had bare bulbs?

I have a thing for old light fixtures and lamps, and my family thinks it's hilarious. I don't think I have a problem, though--do you?
Bonnie

Willa
Revered expert in almost everything

Re: Need another set of eyes...

Post by Willa »

The FB pic looks to be a 1920's ceiling fixture, possibly cast iron or cast metal something(some were spelter, others aluminum).

Many of those fixtures did not have shades. For $40.00 it looks decently complete. They look nice with the flame shaped bulbs, and a dimmer switch helps with the full on bare bulb thing.

Is there a 2nd pic that is missing ? (The $ 20.00 one )

See, I think something like the FB fixture is a good thing to snap up. The price is reasonable, it's not missing parts. You can install it, and when/if you find something you like better you can sell it or trade it for at least what you paid for it.

Of course if you have a garage full of 200+ similar light fixtures, bought with similar economy then never used, traded or sold - then pass and get some help !

39467725_10216137918576592_6400907052490686464_n.jpg
39467725_10216137918576592_6400907052490686464_n.jpg (43.6 KiB) Viewed 740 times

39522089_10216137943217208_3006942355237371904_n.jpg
39522089_10216137943217208_3006942355237371904_n.jpg (75.83 KiB) Viewed 740 times

awomanwithahammer