Are these windows worth $80 for the pair?

Furniture, furnishings and other items of antique interest
awomanwithahammer
Knows where blueprints are hidden

Are these windows worth $80 for the pair?

Post by awomanwithahammer »

Just wondered about the glass in them. I'm not good at judging value in these things. What do you think?
Bonnie

Willa
Revered expert in almost everything

Re: Are these windows worth $80 for the pair?

Post by Willa »

I guess it depends on :

a) What use you have for them, and the value to you
b) The actual value of the textured glass compared to what you would pay from a local glass shop, stained glass place, etc.
c) If the glass and frame is a useable size for your purposes

Sometimes I get all worked up over an old thing, but have to sit down and ask myself similar questions. Sometimes I have hummed and hawed over buying an old house part that I KNOW is a good deal, perfect for my repair, etc., and afterwards I have to shake my head at myself for being so ridiculous about buying a thing I needed. This is also because I don't have unlimited storage space, and the sight of an unused part that has been sitting around for X months/years makes me feel frustrated and discouraged.

That said I have also passed up stuff that was great, a fair price, whatever.

When I spot something really interesting, I try to download a pic or two. Sometimes amazing stuff is snapped up - never to be seen again. Sometimes I look through my files and think "That was a great thing but I still don't have room for it." Once in awhile I feel a little despair over the thing that got away - but usually I still agree with my final decision.

Lily left the valley
Inventor of Knob and Tube

Post by Lily left the valley »