Hello from a newbie!

Introduce yourself here, tell us about your house and interests. Share some pictures.
aaronc23
Just Arrived

Hello from a newbie!

Post by aaronc23 »

Hello everyone!

I'm a student at a large Midwestern university and I currently live in an American Foursquare-style house (now a student Co-Op) built in 1916 just a few blocks from campus. Since we are a Co-Op, we technically don't have a landlord and subsequently have to take care of everything ourselves. After years of housing messy and rowdy college students, our house has become quite beat up. I was recently appointed as the maintenance guy for the house and I want to bring our home back to its former glory :)

Here's a link to some pics from the outside:
http://imgur.com/a/ot5sl

I plan on using this summer to get a lot of DIY work done, but I will definitely need some advice and tips along the way. Anyhow, I just wanted to say hello and that I'm super excited to join this community!

Gothichome

Re: Hello from a newbie!

Post by Gothichome »

Well good to have you. Not sure if that pic is a before but I think a lawn mower would be a good start. To restore, I believe is going to be one hell of a management nightmare. As a Co Op I'm pretty are every one has an equal vote as to major spending, that's were your vision will clash I'm affraid.

aaronc23
Just Arrived

Post by aaronc23 »

Thanks Gothichome! I actually took those two pics yesterday - our "yard" does need some work. We had an actual grass lawn several years ago but someone took it all out and replaced it with wood chips. We don't have a lawnmower unfortunately and most of the "weedy" plants are native prairie plants that a past resident of ours randomly spread throughout our property (hence no one wants to get rid of them). Therefore, I know exactly what you mean when you say restoring everything will be a management nightmare :doh: