1917 Canadian Georgian Revival

Introduce yourself here, tell us about your house and interests. Share some pictures.
JacquieJet
Shakes a cane at new house owners

1917 Canadian Georgian Revival

Post by JacquieJet »

Hello there!
I got a tip from someone about the existence of this forum, and couldn't help but register/say hello!
I'm very new to all of this- this is our first century home, but it is a beauty! It has definitely been a labour of love, but well worth it!

The house is in Ontario, Canada, in a historic district, and apparently of the Georgian Revival style (but I have yet to confirm this). Everything I have seen that is of that style seems to have a porch directly in the middle, which mine does not. What I do know is that the home was built in 1917, and although I don't know who originally built it, I have found a fair bit of info on many past owners and their colourful histories! I have been putting together a binder of house history since moving in over a year ago. It's amazing what can be found in the archives! So far, I have found one prior owner in the 1920's who fought in WW1, only to lose his eldest son in the war and his youngest son 2 years later to the Spanish Influenza. Another family actually lost their husband/father quite young, and in the obit my address is listed as his funeral location! Another family I have found had lived here for 50 years, and their daughter has been more than kind, sharing photos of the house from her parents' albums from the 1950's onward. It's been so interesting!