Hello From Maine!

Introduce yourself here, tell us about your house and interests. Share some pictures.
GibsonGM
Forgotten more than most know

Hello From Maine!

Post by GibsonGM »

Hello forum members!

I'm Mike, from Maine. I am a restoration house painter, and much of my work is done on Victorians, stripping lead paint and fixing up the old beauties. My wife and I recently found our dream home in the mountains, town population 1200 :mrgreen: It took us over a year to find our home; most of them are sadly needing much more than the avg. person can put into them.

We have a ca. 1860 cape-style farmhouse that somehow has survived rather well given the folks who have lived here over the years. Solid post & beam, no rot in the sills, and so on. Partial interior restoration, but the did keep the plaster and were very tasteful (artists...). It is not 100% 'original', altho I like to think of the things people have added as part of the history too (such as the asbestos tile siding and whatnot).

We move in here in July, and are now ready for our first winter on a big bad hill...9 cord of firewood and a Jotul will hopefully make it easy! We have no insulation (probably why the house is still here...), and the 2nd floor is essentially unfinished. So, I found this forum and hope to toss ideas around about how to do that correctly, and to maybe be able to help others with some paint information, if I am able. Thanks!

Our house now, and then, when the Grand Army of the Republic held their 1895 meeting there (home builder was a noted veteran of the Civil War...)

lisascenic
Stalwart

Re: Hello From Maine!

Post by lisascenic »

What an amazingly charming house! I hope you guys have lots of warm sweaters, and that your first winter isn't too harsh.

GibsonGM
Forgotten more than most know

Post by GibsonGM »

Thank you! It will be 30 below here in January; new to the house, but fortunately not the area, LOL! How they did it in the 1800s with just fireplaces amazes me...